Douglas County Kansas Seal (home page)
Douglas County Kansas Header (home page)
Douglas County, Kansas

Monday, November 24, 2014 

Douglas County Kansas ONLINE

Section Home

Get Acrobat Reader (free)
Acrobat Reader is needed to view files in PDF format. Download a free copy by clicking the icon above.

Get Flash Player (free)
Flash Player is needed to view files in SWF format. Download a free copy by clicking the icon above.
You are here: Home Page > Departments > Emergency Management > National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS)

This page contains details about the National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS).

National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS) check current status

What Is It?

The National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS) communicate information about terrorist threats by providing timely, detailed information to the public, government agencies, first responders, airports and other transportation hubs, and the private sector. It replaces the color codes of the Homeland Security Advisory System (HSAS).

How Does It Work?

Under the new system, DHS will coordinate with other federal entities to issue formal, detailed alerts when the federal government receives information about a specific or credible terrorist threat. These alerts will include a clear statement that there is an “imminent threat” or “elevated threat.” The alerts also will provide a concise summary of the potential threat, information about actions being taken to ensure public safety, and recommended steps that individuals and communities, businesses and governments can take.

How Can I Get Alerts?

The Department of Homeland Security provides several ways for you to receive alerts from the National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS). They include:

What Are Some Other Resources?

There are several great resources related to preparation and homeland security. Please visit the links below to get more information: